Recognizing Excellence

Recognizing Excellence  


Dear Members, Friends, and Colleagues,


I am pleased to announce that we are now accepting nominations for the

 Awards of Merit 2016.

The Awards of Merit program recognizes outstanding programs and individuals who have enriched our museum community. They reward staff and volunteers for innovative efforts and encourage the development of new and remarkable projects.

Any organization or individual is invited to nominate an organization, person(s) or project that was completed in 2016 at a New York State museum, heritage, or cultural organization. Nomination of oneself or one’s organization is permissible and encouraged. Award of Merit program is organized into seven categories for nominations. These categories are:

·      The Rising Star Award:

·      Anne Ackerson Innovation in Leadership Award

·      Innovation in Collection Access

·      Innovation in Interpretation

·      Engaging Communities Award

·      Excellent “Failure” Award

·      Individual Achievement


A team of judges will evaluate nominations. Awards will be presented at the 2017 Annual Conference, Museums Trifecta: Inspire, Experiment, Transform being held April 2-4 at the Gideon Putnam Hotel in Saratoga Springs, NY.

Please email all nomination materials in PDF format before March 3, 2017 to with the subject line:

Award of Merit 2016 Nomination


Award winners will be notified March 17, 2017.


For more information about the Awards of Merit categories and judging criteria and to download the nomination form please follow this link to the page on our website: 2016 Awards of Merit.

I would also be happy to email or USPS mail a copy of the forms to you directly if you send me an email: Please allow 48 hours for my response.


We look forward to learning about all of the exciting activities that took place in museums across the state in 2016 and recognizing excellence in our field. 



Erika Sanger

Executive Director